What's new

Bad first experience.

Let me qualify this by saying I am not a noob, I am a super noob. I bought the cheapest razor I could find. I paid 5 bucks for a bristle brush at the beauty supply store. I bought a can of Aveeno shaving cream. I felt pretty good about myself for spending less than 70 bucks for everything and you guys drop hundreds of bucks. Short story long. After my first shave I realized I was the dumb one. It just felt like it took forever to shave. I guess I'll go buy a proper razor and brush this time. Here's a pic of my 50 dollar razor and 5 dollar brush $ImageUploadedByTapatalk1414103190.441940.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

rockviper

I got moves like Jagger
Something doesn't look right on that razor. The red insert is for 1/2 of a DE blade. If the holder doesn't hold the blade snug and secure, you're in for a world of trouble.

Nothing wrong with a $5 brush, as long as it's not shedding hairs like crazy. I honestly cannot remember when I last used shaving cream (20+ years?), so I don't even know if you should use a brush with it or not.

Welcome to B&B and, unlike most of us, you really don't NEED to spend big bucks. We just WANT to because we're all nutjobs.

Looking at that set, I need to tell you that is was not your kit - except for the goo out of the can.

Shaving with a DE, Shavette and even more so with straight takes practice and patience.

Expect to achieve truly good shaves with a straight after about 100 shaves.

If you don't have the patience and persistence to educate yourself and invest the necessary time and effort to practice then you might as well give up now and go back to your previous shaving regime.

Apologies for being so frank, but expecting to become an overnight straight shaving expert is a fallacy.

Don't feel bad, we all had to climb that hill.

B.

BTW,