What's new

Understanding Blade Gap/Exposure combos and efficiency to blade feel ratio

Greetings people!

I am fairly new to B&B. I have been wet shaving for a few years now mostly with 2 or 3 razors (after trying several that did not work well). After reading many posts here, I've come to realize I know very little about DE razors in the sense that I keep reading about lots of different brands and models I had never heard of before.

I have a difficult combo of beard and skin to please. I tend to have quite dense and coarse beard hair but also fairly sensitive skin. I also shave everyday. Obviously sensitive and coarse is all relative so here a few examples of razors that did well or poorly for me:

Better performers:

• Razorock GameChanger .84P
  • EJ 3one6
  • Henson medium

Ok but not great:

• Razorock GameChanger .68P --> (still a bit low on the efficiency scale, I do not get BBS unless I go a full 3 passes + a lot of touch ups)

Poor performers:
  • EJ DE89 (too inefficient, keep having to repeat passes until irritated)
  • Lupo 95 (very efficient but combination of gap and blade exposure just gives me irritation after 2 passes)

As I prepare to accept my fate, dive deep down the rabbit hole, and potentially acquire more razors, I am interested in learning more about razors in general. I am curious to find out more about what makes a razor mild with fairly low blade feel yet highly efficient. So far, this is what I experienced:

• Low blade gap and negative blade exposure --> usually inefficient especially where my hair grows parallel to my neck or jawline.
  • High blade gap and high blade exposure (Lupo 95) --> Very efficient but unfortunately I don't have the skin for it, gives me irritation too quickly.
  • High blade gap and neutral blade exposure (GC 84P ??) --> Efficient and decently comfortable