What's new

Strop setup?

I was wondering how everyone had their strops setup? I currently have a leather loop on the end of mine that I hook around the faucet for stropping, and then hang it back up in the closet. I am thinking there has to be a better way, especially since I would like to be able to get a more taut draw.

So, what do you guys do?

I hang the strop at exactly elbow hieght and leave it attached to a very pretty ornamental hook that is driven into a wall stud.

But I'm very serious about superior shaves! :smile:

As a newbie I have one strop that just arrived from Joel that fits on a door nob and I have a four sided paddle strop that just arrived 10 minutes go That I will be using once I get back home from work .

Nick

I hang the strop at exactly elbow hieght and leave it attached to a very pretty ornamental hook that is driven into a wall stud.

But I'm very serious about superior shaves! :smile:

I've got a "dual hook" drilled into a wood cabinet. You can get these type of "hooks" at hardware stores, they are advertised as a number of thinks (Key hooks, coat hangers, towel hooks etc) - just make sure to get one with a ball at the top of the hook if you can, so the strop will be less prone to pop out of the hook when you're stropping!

I was wondering how everyone had their strops setup? I currently have a leather loop on the end of mine that I hook around the faucet for stropping, and then hang it back up in the closet. I am thinking there has to be a better way, especially since I would like to be able to get a more taut draw.

So, what do you guys do?

I have a similar loop on my Tony Miller Starter strop. I hook it round a door knob for stropping purpuses.

So, what do you guys do?

Good question. I am sure pictures of your strop and how it is set up would be enjoyed if you can provide one!