What's new

Stropping

First i'll say i'm no stropping expert(i don't think)😅,here's how i normally do things,i've found i like a paddle strop more than a hanging strop,after a shave,i dry the straight razor using a clean dry face cloth,then i'll sit it in an open position on a razor holder for a day or two(maybe three if i've forgotten about it)😁,then using a paddle strop i'll give it about 50 laps per side,then i'll give it a couple drops of razor oil,rub the oil over the blade,then i'll use a dry facecloth again to remove any lingering oil,before storing away in either my display box or in a leather holder,my favourite straights are in the box,others are in the leather cases,then on next use,because it's already been stropped,i'll give it perhaps 10 or 15 laps on a hanging strop before use,every(perhaps) 5 or 6 uses i'll give the razor around 50 laps on a pasted paddle strop,i find this works for me,how do you do it🤔

After I shave, dry the razor on my towel and then I do 40-50 laps on linen. I finish by using a doubled piece of toilet paper to dry between the scales. No real humidity here, so I just put the razor back in its coffin in a drawer.

Before I shave, I do ~80 laps on leather.

After honing: ~60 laps on linen, followed by the same on leather.

Legion

Staff member
After the shave I'll dry the razor well with towel and TP, strop it about 5-10 times on linen and leather, just to make sure the edge is 100% clean of moisture and soap residue, and put it away in its coffin on a high shelf, away from my daughters curious little hands.

Before the shave about 15x on linen, 30x leather.

After the shave I rinse and dry the blade with TP. Ensure it is free of detritus and put the razor aside. Before the next time I use the razor, strop until it sounds right and then shave. Number of laps can be between 10 and 60 depending on the razor and sound.