What's new

Suggestions on 3" wide hanging strops at 30$-60$ range

Hi guys! I'm new to straight razor shaving and i've been getting better and better with each passing week. I have a low budget strop that is 2.5" and its okay but I feel a 3" will be better and since now I havent damaged my hanging strop for a while I want to make that jump to a better strop that is wider. Do you guys have any suggestions? Thank you in advance guys!

Heirloom Vanilla strop from Tony Miller. You get a dual strop that includes both a leather and a cotton strop. Hardware is bomb-proof. All for 55 bucks, or leather only for $42.

These are considered "beginner" strops, but still very nice. Tony also has more premium strops, of course those cost a bit more than your stated price range.

Why do you think 3” will be better?
It will fit the entirety of my blade length so I don’t have to do x passes. So it will be more convenient in my mind that I don’t have tot junk about doing an x pass just a regular pass that fits the entire blade.

Heirloom Vanilla strop from Tony Miller. You get a dual strop that includes both a leather and a cotton strop. Hardware is bomb-proof. All for 55 bucks, or leather only for $42.

These are considered "beginner" strops, but still very nice. Tony also has more premium strops, of course those cost a bit more than your stated price range.
Thank you very much, that sounds like an amazing price

Legion

Staff member
It will fit the entirety of my blade length so I don’t have to do x passes. So it will be more convenient in my mind that I don’t have tot junk about doing an x pass just a regular pass that fits the entire blade.
But… The X pass is the correct technique, and delivers the most consistent contact over the length of the blade.

There is a reason there are no vintage 3” strops, and it isn’t a lack of leather.

I recently, just to experiment, made and used a 1.5cm strop for a while. With good technique it worked just fine.