What's new

Picked up some Perma-Sharps from Amazon

I am almost done with my Feathers and decided to try something different. I see a lot of people use the Perma-Sharp and some even said they are similarly sharp with longer lifespan.

This is my 4th razor brand. I have used Personna Apache and Shark Super Chrome. Both served me well on my old razor and new one, but don't notice much difference. I remember the Apache being sharper than the Shark.

Looking forward to the Perma-Sharp.

Oh, I should count mine. Looked like I got the full delivery.

I got the wrong blades, the 1/2 DE blades like this:

proxy.php

At the current prices on Amazon, I'm not sure you can do better.... I don't know enough about DE blades to know, but I do know, I've been using Perma-Sharps for a few months now.... and loving them.
LOL, B&B members must have bought out all the cheap stock. It's up to $12.46 right now for a 100 pack. Still a bargain honestly at that price. The prices on AMZ on Russian Gillette Platinums has jumped as has Nacets. Silver Blues still holding steady at $15 per 100.

Last edited:
I used the Perma-Sharp today. Not what I expected. I don't want to jump the gun though because I am wondering if performance was connected to lather.

The first pass wasn't great. I had a 3-day growth, but it didn't cut as cleanly as I thought it would with my R41. There was some tugging, but nothing extreme. I am not sure if this is blade related or lather related.

I face lathered and might not have added enough water. It was still a decent lather and I still added water a few times, but it still wasn't as slick as prior times. I don't want to wrongly accuse the blade of poor performance so I am going to give it another shot with a more moist lather.

2nd pass was solid. Lather was more slick from the left over face rinse water. Blade performed really well.

Did a half pass ATG and again, really pleasant experience due to the extra moisture on the face.