What's new

My raw story. for anyone who likes film cameras

***First, let me preface this by saying that I know this topic is the cause of much heated debate, however, I thought others might like my perspective. I am not a pro. I don't intend to offend anyone. And you are more than welcome to your opinion.***

I started getting into photography as a young teenager. My brother gave me an old digital camera which took terribly blurry photos at the age of twelve or thirteen and despite its poor performance I was hooked. As I got older I purchased a couple better digital cameras but the more I upgraded the less I really enjoyed the act of taking a photo. Even though the cameras got progressively better, I was constantly having to fiddle with the settings to get the photos I wanted. It seemed like the more settings were added, the less time I could take to just shoot.

Fast forward to 2007. I am signed up for a photography class in college and managed to get my hands on a beautiful Canon A-1. I loved and still love that camera. I found that I enjoyed my photography once again. The reason was that shooting film was all about the mechanics of the camera itself. I was able to choose an appropriate ISO before shooting... concentrate on composition, focus, aperture and shutter speed in the field... and then worry about development, color balance and contrast back in the lab. All those annoying settings on my digital cameras were gone and replaced with a physical darkroom where I could take my time to develop the way I wanted.