What's new

First use of Mikawa Asano Nagura

I just received a set of Mikawa Asano Nagura, and honed using them on my Nakayama Mizu Asagi. I'd be interested on feedback as I have no experience of what the edge should look like at each level. Photos below with comments. Your thoughts? The razor popped arm/leg hair very nicely so I'm expecting a nice shave this afternoon, will report on that later. Not sure if I'm supposed to strop after Jnat/Nagura, but I did (20 on cotton, 50 on roo leather).

Shapton 8K.jpg

Botan.jpg

Tenjyo.jpg

Mejiro.jpg

Nakayama water.jpg

20231004_130817.jpg

The Nakayama is pretty small, about 120x70mm, rated 5/5. I was so excited about the new Nagura that I forgot it came with a Tomo Nagura and hence that didn't get used in the progression today. If this razor shaves well, I'll be converting a dozen or so razors to the Jnat and will incorporate the Tomo before the clear water step.
Shave report pending!

Last edited:
Nice pictures! This looks promising. I am ignoring the Devil's spit that is waiting to plague you when you get further into the steel of this razor.

Are you torquing the razor as you hone? It looks as though there is a very thin line, right at the edge, that does not share the scratch pattern you've put on the rest of the bevel.

Thanks @Herrenberg, yes I was torqueing to some extent especially on the Shapton synthetic and the Botan, but eased up with the finer stones. The blade was certainly undercutting very nicely. Now that you mention it, the Botan in particular has that thin line. I'll bear it in mind for the next razor in line. The Devils spit is of no concern to me as this is a $20 razor that is first in line for any new tricks, but doesn't get a lot of use after that. It's certainly not attractive though is it!

I'm very, very, pleased to report that the shave was an enormous success; smooth and efficient with not a drop of blood spilt!