What's new

Simple Q, for the older folks here

I am 30, and stated using DE 2 years ago (bought a CAdillac and stated using my dads 45 year old razor.. Old life crisis much ? )

i was talking to a friend whos 49 and i said, Double edge, ... like you used when you stated shaving, hes like no, i always used cartridge,

Basically when did DE die and got well replaced by the Twin cart ? early ? late 70s ?

seems its been dead for monre than i thought since he had no idea what i was talking about at first !

Last edited:
I'm 52 and started with a double edge, but was using a Trac II before I graduated from high school. I still have the DE razors I started with and the fancy Trac II handle my brother bought me. DE was definitely on the way out when I started shaving.

Hi,

I started shaving in 1976 and with a DE. But, then I was 15 and the razor was one of Dad's. I suppose the Trac-II was on the rack in the drug store, but I certainly would not have noticed at the time.

By the time I did notice, it was 1979 and a Trac-II razor magically appeared in the mailbox for me. A result of my having signed up for the draft, no doubt. Or, maybe due to subscriptions to racing news papers and magazines. But, I didn't like it and stuck with the DE.

Later on, an Atra appeared, then a Sensor, then a Mach-III and, finally a Fusion. The dates of those are no longer remembered. What I do recall is trying them and then stuffing them into a drawer and keeping on using a DE (along with a Straight starting in the mid 80s).

Stan

I'm 66 and started with Gillette DE razors mid 1960's. Don't recall when I switched over to carts. Probably a result of subliminal brainwashing by Gillette. BTW, Caddys ain't as bad as Buick LeSabres. And no, I drive vintage MG sports cars.

Thanks , but i didnt go check because, i was more curiosu about the average people, did they change right away?

from what it looks like it came out in 71 and got people trashing their nice DE FAST !

No worries.