What's new

Treet carbon steel --- for me, a best blade

I am finding many, many blades from the #2 sampler that are excellent. I think I may be lucky in that I've really gotten good shaves from nearly all blades (I think any issues have been sloppy technique, such as too much pressure).

I'm ranking them and will likely buy 3-4 for rotation. It will take a while to get through them all, and another round to check. Giovanni also gave me some samples that weren't in my #2 sampler, including the Treet Carbon, which I'm looking forward to trying. Here is my ranking so far (most with only 2 pass shave as I am just beginning):

1 DORCO: very smooth, no irritation
2 Dura Sharp Carbon: very smooth, no irritation, sharp
3 Super Max Platinum: Sharp, smooth, no irritation on 2 pass shave
4 Dura Sharp Stainless: very sharp, fairly smooth, little irritation later in day
5 Merkur: Seemed to pull, XTG resulted in minor irritation and razor burn
6 Sputnik: Seemed to pull, XTG resulted in minor irritation and razor burn (technique?)
7 Dura Sharp Platinum: considerable razor burn and irritation (technique?)

I found the Treet Blue Special to be better for me than the Treet Dura-Sharp Hi-Tech (i.e., carbon) Steel blades. I need to go back and try the Treet Platinum again.

I have the largest sampler pack, and I'm also finding that the blades I've tried so far are terrific. OTOH, I've probably been skimming the cream, since I've tried blades recommended by others. Still, given YMMV on blades, I'm surprised to find so many good blades in a row. There are differences, but so far none that I would just reject out of hand. This morning I used the Wilkinson Economie, made in the UK, and got another very smooth and easy shave.

So what blades are better than the Feather then? You have me hooked on a Slant and was wondering what your experiences are with a Tweet, Astra that you talked about in another thread. Time to buy some blades and you have been right on before..