What's new

Good, cheap soap or cream

I'm sure some of you saw my post from earlier this week, and I apologize once again if this is a duplicate thread, but I just started shaving with a blade about a week and a half ago, namely because I am a student and need to save money. I am looking for a shaving cream or soap that is cheap but also a quality product. I just think it is crazy to shell out 16 dollars for a container of TOBS or something similar. Thanks for your input guys.

Low cost soap:

VDH Deluxe ~2
VDH Luxury ~4
Arko~5 for 2 sticks
Con Conk ~6
Williams ~2

Low Cost Cream
Palmolive ~4.50
Prosano ~10
Derby Cream ~5
Old Spice cream ~<10

Last edited:
my proraso green tub was $10 but lasts forever. I ordered mine like 8 months ago and was using it exclusively up until about a month ago. Now i use it about 3/4 of the time. I am about half done.

ARKO!!!

The pack of 12 sticks was $13.15 on Amazon a couple weeks ago. It's VERY easy to work with (face lather) and gives a great shave. The 12 sticks will last 2-3 years of daily shaving. It's my go-to shave soap and I love it.

You can get 2 Arko sticks delivered for less than $5 and they will last you 6 months if you shave daily. Go on ebay and search for it. Same with Arko cream. A 100g tube is $4.39 on ebay delivered and will last you at least 4 months if you shave daily.

The VDH soaps are less than $4 and are easily found at Walgreens, CVS, Rite Aid, etc. They last a while too.

If you really want cheap then you have to resort to the canned gels & foams. They gels (for all the knocking they get on this board) are truly great performers and a can goes for about $2.50. It should last you at least 6 months if you shave daily.

Can't beat Arko, for cost and performance.