What's new

Shark Super Chrome review

I've been working through a blade sampler and recently tried a Shark Super Chrome. Since the Shark Super Steel has become one of my favorites, I wanted to see how these would do. After 2 shaves, I'm slightly disappointed. It seems less sharp than the SS albeit just as smooth. Maybe slightly more so. But the differences seem minor or even illusory. In that case, the SS are a real bargain at under 10 bux per hundred delivered. No need to spend more on the Chrome, which reminds me of a Derby. I can't really vouch for longevity as I toss all my blades after three uses. Two if they start to tug.

Even though I'm pretty new to this, I have tried over a dozen types of blades so far. The Shark Super Chromes have been one of the best. I can get 5 or 6 good shaves from a blade while most others give up after 3 or 4 shaves. For me, the shave was comparable to a Gillette Silver Blue, which had been a favorite up to this point. Factor in the price and the Sharks are a winner. I found them to be better for me than the Shark Super Stainless. So far, I have only used them in a pre-war Canadian Tech (w/ triangle slots) and a Merkur 33C. With a more aggressive razor, I'd probably get different results. As much as I want to love the Tech, the 33C has given me slightly better shaves.

The Sharks have always done well for me.
Haven't tried SC but SS are just great. Quite a bit cheaper than Astra, the "gold standard" around here for cheap blades. Maybe a tad less comfortable on those tough areas, but boy are they smoother in terms of lack of irritation. And longer lasting. And more forgiving (seldom a weeper).
And they don't have those annoying glue spots that Astra have!

Third shave today. Very smooth. One of the most consistent third shaves of the seven blades I've tried. But I did nick myself for the first time in a week. I still think the SS is a better buy, but I can see how those who care more about longevity might prefer the Chromes.