What's new

Long Time DE Shaver Needs New Blades - Sharp and Smooth

I have been wetshaving for over 15 years and after awhile I stuck to using the same blade for over 10 years with few exceptions (e.g. travel). My blade of choice for many years has been the yellow pack, MIR 7 O'clock Sharp Edge.

For various reasons, I'm going to stop using this blade and want to look for a replacement that is NOT MIR. I prefer sharp, but smooth blades. Not interested in weird uncoated blades, blades that are not sharp enough, or blades that supposedly get through X number of shaves. I use blades once for a 2 pass shave and toss them. Been doing it this way for years and have no interest in changing it.

Anyway, I don't have the patience to try out one of those big sampler packs with 3 types of decent-ish blades and another 10 or 20 junk low end packs of blades. I'm not looking for NOS or HTF or OOP blades either. I'm looking for blades that will be available for awhile, that are consistent, where I can purchase 50-100 at a time.

Blades that worked well for me in the past:
  • UK made Wilkinson Sword
  • MIR Gillette types: Polsilver, Sharp Edge, Super Iridium, etc.
  • Gillette "Swedes"
  • some rebranded blades "Made in Germany" - not sure who the OEM was...Personna?
Blades that have NOT worked well for me in the past:
  • Derby (tore up my face, very uncomfortable)
  • Astra Superior Platinum (not good enough, mediocre)
  • Dorco (too dull, tugged and pulled)
  • "Crystal" aka Israeli Personna (pulled, dull)
  • Various cheap freebies from India, Egypt, etc. thrown in with shave supply orders. (generally uncomfortable, tear up skin)

Blades that I plan to try soon again:
  • Kai
  • Feather
  • Note: I honestly don't remember how I liked these, but I remember them being very sharp and Feather unforgiving of sloppy technique.