What's new

Milestone Razor - Hart Steel?

Howdy!
I'm new to straight razors (5 shaves in, only one cut, loving it!) and have the following razors: Gold Dollar 208 (6/8 - it was part of a great kit deal, don't judge) and a Gebr Lang 5/8 in wonderful condition (thanks Lakeside!).

I am graduating with my MBA next week and have received a VERY generous gift for the occasion. I am leaning heavily towards a Hart Steel razor personalized with my initials. I intend this to be a "rest of my life" razor and want to make sure I get something I will enjoy for the duration.

I feel that my current razors are a bit "light" and I think I would enjoy something more substantial. I've heard that the Hart razors fit this bill nicely and are of the highest quality. In leaning towards a 7/8 Satin Finish Square point with Cocobolo scales.

I know this might now be the best razor for a starter but I will grow into it as my technique develops (hopefully with minimal facial scarring!)

Thoughts? How do you like yours?

Thanks,
Josh

Congrats on MBA! I don't have a Hart so can't weight in on that but there is no judgment on the Gold Dollar (love mine)

The Hart you described would be a beautiful razor! Good luck.

I dunno I fell quickly out of love with my hart steel... If you're looking for new zowada carbon series is real nice.. You'll have to email Tim zowada for pricing... Or a wacker from shavingshop.com. Wackers have a timeless look to them also thiers issards high end razors are worth a look too... Google thiers Spartacus or dreadnought

Hello,

Hart makes a very nice razor.

Have you thought of maybe a half hallow with a barber's notch? We recently developed a new manufacture straight razor called the Uno. It keeps a very keen edge.

$P1010464.jpg

Sincerely,
Mike

I have a Hart 6/8, and 7/8. They are both nice, and could certainly last several lifetimes. I likely will sell my 7/8 sometime and move on, but the 6/8 will probably stay with me.