What's new

Best De Blades out on the market

So I'm new to shaving with a safety razor and have been checking out all these blades. I wish I knew which one to choose from. Maybe if someone can tell me which ones are the best would be truly appreciated. Thanks Guys

YMMV (Your mileage may vary) is the bottom line on that particular question.

There is going to be some consistent highly regarded blades though.

One of the most commonly referenced is Astra SP.

Ask 50 guys, Get 50 answers. Blades are the most YMMV of them all.
Different blades work better on different faces, and even in different razors

For you, you won't know until you try different brands.
A lot of vendors(such as West Coast Shaving) provide 'blade sampler kits' which have tucks of 5 or 10 of a variety of different blades, enabling you to try some different ones and get a feel for what you like.

What kind have you already tried? What razor(s) do you have?
For me, my favorites are Astra SS & Gillette Platinum.

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
Impossible to tell you which blades are they best. There really is no set standard for "these are the best DE blades" as everyone's face, prep, lather, razor, etc..are all different.

What blades have you used so far? Maybe we can make a suggestion based on that. Also what razor are you using?

Impossible to tell you which blades are they best. There really is no set standard for "these are the best DE blades" as everyone's face, prep, lather, razor, etc..are all different.

What blades have you used so far? Maybe we can make a suggestion based on that. Also what razor are you using?

i have tried feathers,derbys, and merkur. the safetys i own are futur and ej89l

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
Feathers are well regarded as the sharpest, but sharp does not always equal smooth.