What's new

Which is Best? Mug, Bowl, or scuttle?

I'm new to the safety razor. I still have a can of Barbasol, but when it eventually runs out, I want to get shave soap. Some come in a little wooden bowl just big enough to hold the soap, then there are bigger bowls, mugs, and various kinds of scuttles.

Which do you prefer? Doesn't the soap get soft? Isn't there a lot of waste with the smaller bowls? I'm assuming you have to clean off the edges, wasting some good lather. Thanks all.

Michael.....

Welcome to B&B.

An old fashioned shaving mug or a coffee cup isn't wide enough for me to use comfortably. Other than that, there's no reason not to use one. A nice scuttle might be an improvement, but not a necessity. You can manage to keep a bowl under water to keep it warm. I face lather and like a brush scuttle to keep the brush warm. If you use the same bowl to lather that the soap stays in there might be some waste. You can rinse it out (I certainly would) or not. Just don't leave water in it (dump it out) and it'll dry out.

Welcome to B&B, for soaps the bowl is for holding the soap, you don't really need anything for holding the soap itself other than your hand. You can use another bowl, a scuttle or a mug for building your lather in after loading it into your brush. You can also skip all that and after loading lather in your brush build the lather on your face. There are many tutorials on the site that can walk you through proper lathering techniques. Myself, I face lather and love it.

I'm new to the safety razor. I still have a can of Barbasol, but when it eventually runs out, I want to get shave soap. Some come in a little wooden bowl just big enough to hold the soap, then there are bigger bowls, mugs, and various kinds of scuttles.

Which do you prefer? Doesn't the soap get soft? Isn't there a lot of waste with the smaller bowls? I'm assuming you have to clean off the edges, wasting some good lather. Thanks all.

Michael.....