What's new

Which Shaving Soaps still contain Tallow?

Several well-known producers of shaving soaps have reformulated their products recently to exclude tallow. This has been discussed repeatedly in this forum. I was thinking that it might be useful to compile a list of shaving soap producers, traditional and boutique, that still do include tallow in their products.

Please submit your list to this thread and I'll compile a list and post it.

Areffa Soap
Ariana & Evans

ETHOS Grooming Essentials

First Line Shave

Gentleman's Nod
Grooming Dept

Hoffman's Shave & Soap Co.
House of Mammoth

JabonMan Eufros

Lodrino
Los Jabones De Joserra

MacDuff's Soap Company

Oaken Lab

Spearhead Shaving Company

Tallow + Steel

WestMan Shaving
Wholly Kaw

Zingari Man

Last edited:
Pardon my lack of knowledge, I am still learning about DE shaving, but what is the advantages/disadvantages in having tallow in the soap formula? Are there other ingredients that greatly affect the soap's performance?
Thanks for sharing your insights.

Steve56

Ask me about shaving naked!
I was told by a reliable authority tallow is an easier fat to saponify than vegetable fats

Ok, i’ll bite. What does ‘easier to saponify’ mean, and why does it make a difference? Not bing flippant, just want to understand the reason why this makes a difference.

And why would ’easier to saponify’ make any difference in the end product given that the soap maker knows their stuff?

Maybe ‘harder to saponify’ yields a superior product? There is some evidence to support this, like non-tallow SV, MdC, Acqua di Parma, ABC, SMN, and almost every cream in existence.

Ok, i’ll bite. What does ‘easier to saponify’ mean, and why does it make a difference? Not bing flippant, just want to understand the reason why this makes a difference.

And why would ’easier to saponify’ make any difference in the end product given that the soap maker knows their stuff?