What's new

Unexpected job loss.. questions about suit

Chandu

I Waxed The Badger.
I work in IT. It's all about what you know, or at least what you can B.S. that you know. I'd hate to try to land any actual job based on my clothing.

That said... I'm quite fetching in my purple velvet onesie.

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
I'd hate to try to land any actual job based on my clothing.

Well, it's not "based on" the clothing.

Once you get over the rather low bar of dressing "appropriately", that's about as far as any interviewer will go in terms of attire. It's just that guys who screw it up will likely screw up other stuff too.

Kind of like the interviewer taking you for lunch. It's not about whether you know which fork to use for which course, they just want to know if you will drink 7 martinis and chew with your mouth open.

never-stop-learning

Demoted To Moderator
Staff member
Some really excellent advice on this thread! 👍

Before I retired in 4/2021, I ran a nationwide (USA) team of technical project managers who were responsible for the coordination and timely delivery of large scale fiber optic deployments. Having the proper education, certifications and work experience was more important than wearing a suit. Nice shirt & tie, slacks, shoes and grooming worked when I hired a new member of the team.

It is really important to do your research on your prospective employer. Find out everything you can about the corporate culture, dress codes, management structure, hiring manager, etc. Information is your friend.

Best of luck with your search! 👍

tankerjohn

A little poofier than I prefer
Wow, lots of great advice. I have a few thoughts:

- Suit or no suit definitely depends on the industry and region. I think you've got that nailed, though. Also, the form of interview. Hey, if you've doing a Zoom or telephone interview, you don't need any pants at all!