What's new

Traditional wallet vs slim wallet vs digital wallet

EclipseRedRing

I smell like a Christmas pudding
As a young man I used a bifold wallet and kept it in the back pocket of my jeans; the result was an imprint on the back pocket which eventually wore right through the denim, and damage to the wallet. I found a trifold wallet too small, and the long wallet was too large to fit in the back pocket. My wife purchased what, for me, is a high end Coach bifold wallet and I have only carried it in my jacket pocket or in a bag. As a result the wallet looks like new after several years of use. I would now reconsider a long wallet to carry in the same way as I think it looks more refined and stylish. The wear on the jeans back pocket is no longer an issue for me as I am in my 50s and therefore, like any self respecting man of my age, I no longer wear jeans ;)

I have been using the Access Denied minimalist wallet for the last 6 years. It holds Cash, Credit Cards & Drivers License. I really like it. :thumbup1:

Pre-Covid I used to carry a fair amount of cash to pay for lunch, groceries, most buys under $20-30. Along with a few cards, this required a trifold. Post-covid, I use cc for most purchases. I started rotating a collection of 5 or 6 minimal cardholder style wallets. Room for 4 cards, 2 slots each side, and 3 or 4 twenties in the small center pocket. At the high end I like a Goyard St. Sulpice in burgundy, mid-level a nice croc from Sid Mashburn and a George Cleverly (ultra minimal) in leather dragged up from a sunken ship, and everyday a couple of vintage car seat jobs from Couch (not Coach), and a Hershel in camo.

I also use an Allett slim wallet - bifold leather version. I keep it in my back pocket, and have had this one for years. Maybe close to a decade or more now. I find trifolds, in general, to be too thick. And I'm not hip enough to move over to full digital wallet.