What's new

SR1 to the Rescue

So...seeing as how I'm new to wetshaving in general (three weeks), I said what the heck and ordered a Feather Popular (DE) and a Parker SR1 (Shavette). I've been using the Popular for the last few weeks and can get a beautiful shave with no cuts.

Today the SR1 arrived....what a difference in engineering (NOT for the better, it is definitely a cheap straight, but a good way to find if I enjoy the concept).

Day 1:
I am using Derby blades that came in the "everything" pack from Westcoastshaving at the recommendation of others due to their forgiveness.
AOS oil, cream and ASB and a AOS mini badger (got the starter pack).

Pass 1: WTG
The oil didn't seem to work well with these particular blades as it has with my feathers in the past....felt as thought the razor was gumming up against my face rather than sliding (maybe due to less sharp blades?). The first pass had less than spectacular results, removing nearly no hair (admittedly I was being a bit sheapish with the angle, rather than cut myself repeatedly).

Pass 2: WTG
Scrubbed off what oil I could, relathered with the cream and started over again with a steaper angle. Much more successful, though I'm still not sold on the blade choice. After finishing this (still no cuts....Yay), I had significant beard reduction but definitely not a work day quality shave.

Currently giving my face some time to rest (More than two passes wasn't happening without significant discomfort) and will try again either late tonight or tomorrow morning. So far I like the concept but find think I made a poor choice with the blades. The shavette has met my expectation (not high given the price), but if continuing I would like to find a heftier razor.

I'll update you after my next attempt. I also received a better brush (Baxter silvertip and TOBS software) though I'm fighting the urge to play with more than one variable until I have it sorted out.