What's new

Feather SR vs SS for beginners

Hi everyone. I’m new to shavette/straight razor shaving

I have credit to use on a shaving website and the Feather SR & SS have peaked my interest

I have previously seen people say that the SS is better for beginners as it is “more forgiving” but it doesn’t provide as good of a shave and it’s tough to go ATG due to the head design

But would i be better off getting the SR (cheaper) and using the feather soft guard blades to get a closer yet still safe shave? Rather than getting the SS now and then buying the SR later?

Many thanks

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
I have limited experience with AC barber razors. I have two of them... both Kais... I was advised to avoid the SS because the bump is annoying... The SR is a better beginner's barber razor.. or a Kai Kosho Woody... or Excelia... I have those two.

I do use several AC single edge razors and love the format... I've only used the Excelia one time so far... but I was surprised at how natural it felt.

I'm sure more knowledgeable people will chime in soon.

I learned the basic technique for these types of razors with real straight razors, and have used clones of the Feather / Kai razors a bit too (DX and Captain).

I recently took the plunge on a real Feather and went for the SR (apparently it should arrive later today - exciting). I felt like getting used to the bump of the SS would mean having to adapt my technique, and it may force me to adopt a steeper angle than I would like. For me one of the most important things to getting a nice shave with these types of razors is being able to adopt a very shallow angle when necessary, especially for ATG.

Some people find the "bump" on the SS is just fine and get good shaves with it, but others feel it is more of an obstruction than a help (it is meant to make life easier by helping to stretch the skin). If you aren't sure, the SR is probably the safer option.

...or do the B&B thing and get both!

Eben Stone

Staff member