What's new

Shelf life. How to use artisan soaps? Rotate or use one by one

I've been wetshaving thanks to B&B for 8 years now. 7 of those years I stuck with tallow tabac, MWF and palmolive soap sticks; used with a muhle R89.
Now finally i've started spreading out into other items. I have recently bought a Rocca R96 and Henson mild; both amazing razors for their uses.

Now I finally decided to treat myself with some artisan soaps. Ariana and Evans Amber rose (k2e base was well reviewed), Stirling barbershop (old posts here about the soap when it was new), Stirling Mountain man and a HAGS Tarocchi.

I was wondering if rotating them is okay or should I go one by one. Since they seem way more perishable than the commercial ones I have used so far. I have seen insane soap collections here so wanted to know if leaving soap to dry (lid open) after use is enough; even though labels say 12m after opening is their shelf life.

I would love to know how you all would use the soaps. I am already smitten with the scent of Amber rose which is the only one I have used so far.

I would love a discussion regarding this topic on shelf life regardless

3c9276be-f6ba-406b-aea1-e352a2a16df3.jpg

5652e951-9a82-4b64-a056-88f706cdab08.jpg

I rotate. I also don’t do any special aftercare other than wiping excess lather with clean cloth, lid on, put away. I have about 15 soaps I rotate through and haven’t had any issues. Several are years in use, no problems so far.
Thankyou, I was worried they'd need some very special treatment after the regular soaps I have used so far.

Reactions: Kix
I scoop a little soap out of the container for each shave and put it in a Timeless bowl and build lather there. I don't know if it helps extend the shelf life of the soap but I figure it can't hurt. Also, the vast majority of soaps/croaps should stay fresh for more than 12 months. I can't think of any that have gone bad on me that fast. Enjoy your new soaps and beware of SAD (soap acquisition disorder)!