What's new

Resto vs. High end...

Looking at the boards, and looking online I was wondering something. People who restore brushes with silvertip or high quality badger hair are spending a fraction of money compared to those who buy the big name brushes.

Besides knowing that you have a high end brush by a well known company, is there an advantage of the well knowns compared to the restored? I'm new to this, so I might be missing something.

Hair grades of some of the high end brushmakers are better, probably marginable by some opinions. Also re-sale is generally better with high end brushes, if that's a consideration for you. At the end of the day they all do thier job though.

I would think warranty is an issue too. You can't do much about a restoration that falls apart but many of the manufacturer's will stand behind their brushes 100%. I have few of both, honestly, mostly because the restorations offer a different look and are a fraction of the price, like you said. All that said, my favorite brush for the past 6 months has been a Fuller restored with a TGN knot. My Rooney is not far behind, though, and I don't plan to part with either of them any time soon.

I think the restorations function just as well and I like them better, too. Some people like brand names and want to have X, Y, or Z brush. I just want a brush that looks great and works great, and I actually think it's cooler to have an old brush brought back to life than to use a new, high-end brush.

My $0.02.

There is definitely a cool factor to have a high end name brand brush...

Still taking opinions. I have a few old brushes that could be brought back, and I also have a small Rooney that I enjoy.

Basically it comes down to some guys are DIY, some guys aren't.