What's new

Recommendations for new open-comb razor

Hello Guys,

I’ve been using a DE razor for about 10 years now. I use it to outline my beard, shave cheeks and pubic hair. I started off with a Merkur 34C which I find perfect, and I also use a Parker 99R. I find myself using the Merkur 34c more for down below as the Parker 99r is more aggressive but I have no issue using it.

I shave my cheeks weekly and pubic hair about every 4, sometimes every 2 weeks and I find that the razors need rinsing after every stroke as it is a lot of growth down there. For that reason, I’m thinking an open comb maybe be better as it will be more aggressive and the open comb nature of the razor may require less passes and rinsing.

I’m looking at buying either the Merkur 41c (1904) which I’ve read is the same aggressiveness as the 34c, the Fatip Piccolo which I’ve read is less aggressive than the Muhle R41 (which I was considering but I’m thinking it’s overkill and dangerous for down there), or the Parker 24c which is supposed to be less aggressive than the Fatip. I would like something a bit more aggressive than the 34c and possibly a bit less than the Parker 99R. I prefer the short handle of the 34c than the long handle of the 99r, I find I have more control with my strokes and better technique with the shorter handle. When I’m outlining, I find the Parker 99r to be more precise and efficient than the Merkur 34c, but I get no razor burn with the 34c afterwards, but to be honest I can now mitigate the razor burn I used to get with 99r with a better a lather on the cheeks.

The main reason I’m think of buying a new razor is for pubic hair and I’d prefer to buy an open comb razor but I will probably use it on my cheeks at some point. My budget is around £30 and main contenders are Merkur 41c (1904), Fatip Piccolo and Parker 24c.

What do you guys suggest? What are your thoughts, recommendations?