What's new

Chosing a stone set

Hello everyone!
I am new to the straight razor world, shave ready GD 208 is on the way.

However, I'm already a bit of a super sharp knife maniac. I sort of a "If it ain't shaving, it needs sharpening" kind of guy. I'm used to hone metal to a keen edge, and a straight razor will be a new challenge for me.
One thing I have to stress is that I do wish to use only NATURAL stones. I know, it's maybe not very reasonable, but I do like it. Time isn't a problem for me (after all, this is a hobby), but price is. I do not wish to put 80$ + in a man-made super duper stone. After all, I'm buying a whetstone to sharpen things, not jewelry. And I do not care "being the cool kid", I want something simple, serviceable and that will last.

So, I'm currently looking for a (or a few) companion(s) to my large 1000/4000 Wästikivi bench-stone (Finnish phylite, slow but good :thumbup1: ) for straight razor finishing/touch ups, as I think 4000 is a bit rough for that purpose.
So far, the Chinese 12k (with a Thuringian like an MST?)or the Welsh slates set as seen on the bay (DG and LM) are attracting my attention. They all seem to fit the bill, but now I'm a bit unsure as what to chose.
Any recommendations? Suggestions?

The MST German waterstones (which some sell as thuringians) are not a good stone for finishing razors in my opinion. They are not thuringians. REAL thuringians are great.