What's new

Best bang for the buck - Knives

Hello everyone, I was wondering if maybe you all could point me to the right direction.
I am just getting started into cooking and I am looking to get some decent knives, I know
that I don't want to get a block set I'm looking into a chef's knife, parry knife, bread knife,
and since I clean fish a lot, a fillet knife! I know that there are a lot of good Japanese knifes
out there, but I was wondering what the best bang for my buck would be, after being diagnosed
with Ulcerative Colitis and the medical bills still piling up, I need to keep the cost down as much
as I possibly can!

Thanks

This quote comes from Christopher Kimball (Cooks Illustrated / Americas Test Kitchen) advertising email I rec'd this morning:
"I also spent $150 on a German-made chef’s knife, and then our test kitchen discovered that a $40 knife made by Victorinox was just as good."

They have been touting Victorinox for years, as an affordable high performing knife mfg. These are widely available (Cooks Illustrated / Americas Test Kitchen always links to Amazon), so it might fit your budget / needs - at a low risk price point.

At 40 bucks, I'm sure it wouldn't hurt to give the chef's knife a try!

Great knife. If you don't want to spend the normal everyday price of ~$35 for the 8" chef's knife, add it to your wishlist and keep an eye on the price, it occasionally gets down to $25!

I also have two of the 3 1/4" paring knives, great all around small task knives, and the 10" slicing knife which makes quick work out of meat dishes.

Last edited:
This is a good conversation. I'm curious about this as well. HOw well do the Victorinox blades hold an edge? How much work is it to refresh the edge. I can no longer get a decent edge on my Sabatier knives.