What's new

New insights into shaving that you learned in 2023

Did you learn anything this year that was important to you and that you will take with you going forward?

I've been shaving old school since 2009 so it surprised me to learn two things this year.

1) It's better if you don't do a real, full face rinse after the first pass. I used to splash water all around and get completely rinsed off before lathering up fir the second pass. Credit to Frank at Ethos, who suggested that, when using his cream, to just wet the hands a little and wipe off residual lather, but not to do a full rinse. I tried it, and I was sold I also started doing it this way for all my lathering products. The bottom line is that, in general, I get a richer second-pass lather by doing it this way.