What's new

I want to start roasting coffee?

I am brand new to roasting myself, but Sweet Maria's is where I started.

If you already have a means of roasting, their library is a must read with thorough easy to follow instructions on how to get started and succeed. If you do not own a roaster, there are many options listed in their library section. If you already have a means of roasting I highly recommend picking up an 8 pound sampler here; http://www.sweetmarias.com/sweetmarias/coffee/samplers/green-coffee-sampler.html

After going through a good chunk of the 8 pound sampler that came with my Behmor 1600, I've been having great fun participating in the Green Coffee Buying Club, or GCBC for short. There's some good bean for good prices here when you've gotten some roasting experience under your belt. The only downside is that they usually deal in larger amounts, with 5 and 10 pound minimums being the norm over there.

I do not understand where the poster above is coming from, as buying green coffee is quite cheap compared to buying pre-roasted. Some of the best coffee you could possibly drink will only run you around 5$ a pound. I have an excellent Brazilian coffee right now that cost me $45 for 10 pounds including shipping to my doorstep.

I think I am going to go ahead and order the 8lb sampler some time next week. I do have a pop corn machine and a heat gun and bread maker. I was thinking about make shifting either of those to work.... Anyone ever use either of those methods?

You could start with the air (popcorn) popper of the same design as Sweet Maria's suggests (about $15 or so) and get right into it for cheap.

I've got a FreshRoast +8 model and a cheapo air popper and honestly, I get almost identical results from both. The Freshroast and other "real" roasters will have something to collect the chaff, while an air popper won't, and it can get messy.