What's new

MDC vs Haslinger

musicman1951

three-tu-tu, three-tu-tu
I have been reading about MDC for years here and finally pulled the trigger. The price was a few cents under $60 with the shipping. In the glass container this is some heavy soap. I often hold the tub upside down for the start of the load, but I'm afraid I will drop this one in the sink.

Aside from the beautiful, heavy glass, the first thing I noticed was how full it was. You couldn't fit another dollop of soap in there. I have read that it lasts a long time, but I've been using it for two months now and I believe anyone looking at it would call it full. It's simply amazing how little product is required. I knew the initial price shock would be reduced by the longevity, but at the rate I'm going this is going to end up an average priced soap.

I have dry skin and have always ended my shave with WH followed by balm. I find the MDC leaves a very nice finish to my skin. The shave is wonderful. NO WEEPERS IN THE TWO MONTHS OF USE. I'm a careful shaver and it's not unusual for me to go a month without a weeper, but this is a new record. I assume I will eventually earn some. But I always thought that technique was the sole supplier of weepers. I still think it's mainly technique, but I'm beginning to believe that lather can play a part. I don't think that lather will save you if your technique really goes south, but still . . .

I have the Haslinger Schafmilch soap and it comes up second to the MDC. But what surprises me is that it's a very, very close second and I purchased three of the small pucks for around $18 with shipping. The cushion is ever so slightly better with the MDC and the post shave face feel is a little better with the Haslinger. I have some fine soaps that really do a nice job, but they are a step below - and most for the same price or higher.

I am frankly amazed at the quality of this soap at this price point.