What's new

Please Don't Thank Me this Weekend

I know this will seem a bit controversial, but please hear me out.

I am a veteran of two different services. I joined the Marine Corps in the early '90s. The US was done with Desert Storm then and Bosnia and Kosovo were a couple years down the road. All in all, this was a relatively peaceful time in our history. I understand there was Somalia and some other things...but for the most part there was not a huge all out war. Other than training deployments and a couple of moments of standing by waiting for helos to pick us up and drop us off on a ship, I was not deployed to anykind of conflict. A couple years after I left the Marine Corps I joined the National Guard. It was here that I was activated for many storms to include Katrina and some other big hurricanes. I was also deployed for almost a year and a half to Afghanistan. I know there are others that saw more tours than I did but the fact remains that I saw some stuff i am glad I saw; I saw some stuff I wish I would have never seen; and I have done things that I am proud of and other things I hope no one ever has to do.

So here is where I lose people. I am a Veteran and I get thanked when people find out. I am appreciative of it even though I have a had time accepting it. We have moved far forward from the days the Vietnam Vets were ridculed and hated. A dark spot in history if you ask me. Us living vets have our day...Veterans Day. This weekend is not that day. This weekend celebrates the lives of those who gave the one thing that is the hardest to give...their life. So if you happen to see me out and about, please don't thank me. If you happen to see a Vet when you are having your weekend fun or doing your weekend work, please say a prayer for his or her buddies that didn't come home...that vet most likely has some.