What's new

Advice on restoring a Dovo Inox

Hi, newbie here, been shaving with a DE for some years now, and finally got my hands on an old straight
since where i live they are pretty hard to come by I guess this is a pretty decent find.

here's an album with all the pics http://imgur.com/a/qr2iq is a Dovo, and since i dont know much about Straight razors, some one told me that most old german one were good i went with this one, it lookd to be in pretty decent state, nno scratches or cracks, but the edge needs a lot of work.

if you see the album, theres a pic of the 2 stones i have ( i had them for my knives), the little one i think is a nagura.

so as you can see im looking to restore it for my personal use, and i dont have the option of sending it to get restored/honed, and after lurking the forum for a while im kind of overwhelmed with information.

so any advice is more then welcome, while i resist the urge to go give it some pases on the 1k stone

The razor looks great! No real need to restore. Just get it honed by someone who knows what they are doing.

It looks a bit around 4/8-5/8 so it should be nice and nimble.

good to hear its not too bad :)
id love to send it for honing, but i cant, im way down south of the world so its pretty much up to me
i was thinking of smoothing it out with some sand paper around 360 grit maybe and then going at it with the 1k till i get to the 6k

Where is this way south?

Your pic shows a king 1k and 6k stone and a synthetic nagura which I think is for cleaning the stone, not honing. Don't use 360, it's too low.

Without other stones, You could probably use the 1k to make sure the bevel is set and then see if the jump to 6k gets you to a serviceable shave edge, it might take a while. Not sure that's even good advice but maybe the 6 can wipe away the results of the 1k.

You would need a strop too.

But honestly my best advice would be to go slow And try not kill the spine or edge with your first attempts.