What's new

Anyone else have a preference for natural ingredients in their consumables?

Greetings,
I am just beginning to enter the artisan shaving scene and was wanting to know just how common 100% all-natural ingredients really are in commonly available consumables such as soaps, creams, balms, splashes, etc. etc.? So far from what I can tell it doesn't really seem to be all that common. I myself have a preference for natural ingredients. Does natural ingredients matter to anyone else out there or am I the only one? Any recommendations or advice on where to purchase these natural consumables and what to look for when buying?
Thank you

Funny you should ask, when I first started wet shaving (with carts ) I wanted all natural soaps to eliminate the caned soaps and all the extra chemicals. With that came the search for a shaving brush. That lead me to thinking about my wastefulness of disposable razors, witch lead me to research razors, which finally lead me to the Badger & Blade. Ounce at the B&B my soap AD took over......which lead me away from all natural soaps. But now I am getting the best shaves of my life and enjoying them. Maybe some day I will get back into !00% all natural soaps. Just saying..........

I try to pay attention, but honestly, it has started getting very frustrating. With soaps, stick with artisans and you're pretty safe. It gets more difficult with pre shaves and aftershaves, and don't even think about trying to find an oil-free moisturizer without tons of parabens. I'm getting close to tryng not to pay attention anymore.

While there is actually no legal definition of the phrase "all natural," I know what you're asking. You're in luck here because Lots of artisan soaps are "all natural."
Soap and cream ingredients can get confusing though. Sodium hydroxide and potassium hydroxide, while not very natural sounding, are two different forms of lye and a necessary (and arguably natural) ingredient of soaps and shave cream.