What's new

Quality on Alum blocks

Hi, I am a bit of a newbie, so bear with me here :)

I bought an Alum block from Shaving.ie, and it is full of dirt, is all grainy (like sandpaper), and has some yellow spots and the color varies.

Pic:
$Alum.jpg

Is this normal? I cant find any pics of alum which is like the one i bought :(

I have been using a Gentle Jon alum block. It's very clean and hard and seems to be holding up quite well. It also comes in a nice plastic box for storage. I never put it away wet, read that you should let it thoroughly dry out before storage. Fairly inexpensive at $5.99 for a 3.5 oz. block. I can see it lasting for years. Here's a link to their website: http://www.gentjon.com

I have been using a Gentleman Jon alum block. It's very clean and hard and seems to be holding up quite well. It also comes in a nice plastic box for storage. I never put it away wet, read that you should let it thoroughly dry out before storage. Fairly inexpensive at $5.99 for a 3.5 oz. block. I can see it lasting for years. Here's a link to their website: http://www.gentjon.com

It says its natural stone, so its wierd.

Anyone else has had stones like this from shaving.ie?

I cant really buy from the US as it would end up costing me at least 20usd in shipping and another 50usd in taxes, so...

its alum.the spots shouldnt interfere with the performance.its just part of the process,kinda like glue dots on razor blades

I think it can happen with any Alum block. I purchased a Gent Jon one and was disappointed at the texture. It was like you mentioned like sandpaper.

No one else has experience with the quality of these blocks?
Can you post a close up picture of your stone?

The alum crystal should be translucent and have no visible impurities. Anything else is not fit for my face, in my opinion.
No, dirt and "spots" are not acceptable "part of the process".

Well the dirt and the sandpaper like consistency does not seems very nice :(