What's new

Transitioning from slant to non-slant. worth it?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Badger & Blade and the online universe of traditional wet shaving.

I'm also pretty new to the art itself - I have between 6 months and a year of shaving experience with DE razors. So far, it's been a wonderful journey! I often have a beard, but had to lop it off for a job interview and haven't grown it back since.

My first and only DE razor to date is the Merkur 37C slant. I bought it on advice from a friend, who thought it would work well for my coarse facial hair and sensitive skin. It performs wonderfully for me most of the time, but I get some occasional redness and irritation on my neck (between chin and Adam's apple). I typically use Astra SP and Feather blades. They are effective and generally comfortable.

I am curious about getting a new razor - perhaps a non-slant. I was just wondering if this is a good move, or a step that might not be very fruitful. While I enjoy my Merkur 37C, I am interested in seeing what improvements/difference, if any, a non-slant DE would bring.

Does anyone have any recommendations or thoughts? Specific models of non-slant I've considered are the Edwin Jagger DE89 (also the DE89 Barley model), the Muhle R89 (also the R89 Grande), and the Merkur 38C barberpole.

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

-Alex

I would highly advice you to not get EJ DE89 or R89 in your case. While I have not tried 38C, I suspect it would not help either. They would all be a downgrade from your 37C. No razor gave me as much irritation on my neck as R89 (same head as DE89).

Of the razors I have tried I suspect R41 could work best for you. It is the razor giving me least irriation on my neck. Yes, it is aggressive and not that comfortable to shave with but the endresult is what matters: closer than any other razor with least irritation. R41 is however very picky with blade. Try R41 with GSB or Feathers.