What's new

Travel Shave

Had to travel for work earlier this week. As it was a short trip, decided to just bring my Gillette Sensor and a travel sized can of goop. The shave was fine, but as I was standing at the hotel sink I realized how completely soulless it felt. There was no joy in it at all. It was a chore to get done.

I'm still new to DE shaving, and maybe I took an extra swig of the Kool-Aid, but that shave made me realize how sublime DE shaving is. I couldn't wait to get back home to my razor.

Yeah, many of us feel like that. If you travel much, you will find things that work well for you for travel. I travel with DE gear as I simply will not resort to carts and goo if I absolutely don't have to.

I carry my complete kit which includes my large shaving bowl, pre-shave, post-shave balm, shaving soap, shaving cream, alum block (just in case), brush, after shave and a Parker travel razor. It all fits in my large shaving kit bag that I purchased from The Container Store. I am so spoiled by DE shaving that I can't leave home without it:001_smile.

Even if you might have to use a cartridge (if you travel by air), you can still take a tube of good shaving cream and a brush. You won't get as good a shave, but at least you don't have to suffer the goo. I think that the goo probably causes more problems than the cart because of all the chemicals in it.

travel set when i can check a bag.

$Travel shave set.jpg

Last time I travelled I bent low and instead of bringing my kit I wanted to pack light and took a can of goo and when I arrived it had exploded all over my checked bag. Never again.........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Badger Bill

I think if I had to give up something in lieu of travel, it would be my razor. I won't give up my creams, brush, or shave sticks. But if you can get by with canned cream, then by all means do it!