What's new

Witch Hazel vs A/S or both?

Apologies for the newbie question, but well, I'm new.

I've just ordered the Thayers witch hazel sample pack. Do I use the WH instead of my A/S lotions like Proraso and Speick? Or do I use both? I've been reading the threads to find an answer but just ended up getting confused.

Also half of the Thayers range are toners and the other half are astringents. Is this the same thing, or at least the same function?

Tks

I'm interested to see what everyone else says too. I've started using witch hazel but I still use aftershave for the lite scent and feel. I suppose it's a YMMV thing.

I'm a newbie too but I always use both witch hazel and an aftershave balm at this stage. I find that The witch hazel cleans and tones things well while the ASB deals with any burn and moisturises. I find more of a good thing is always the way to go but YMMV.

I use both, but I use Dickenson's witch hazel (less expensive and just as effective). Dickenson's is unscented and contains only witch hazel hydrosol and alcohol (as a preservative). I also use alum (before applying witch hazel), and I only use alcohol based aftershaves.

I use both. And I don't use any fancy Thayers or other witch hazel. I get the big bottle of Wal Mart brand witch hazel, works fine for me anyway. After I shave, rinse, and towel dry my face and neck, I spray witch hazel. Yes, I put it in an atomizer, and I spray liberally. After I've cleaned up my shave gear and the sink, I apply some aftershave. The combination works well for me.

I use both and I can tell a difference. Since I have been using a DE razor, I havevavserious decrease in irritation, but I like witch hazel and then a splash or a balm, really, really works for me. My rule of thumb is try it out, it if works keep doing it, if not jut stop.