What's new

Checking in and Seeking a Little Advice

Newbie here checking in with first post!

I've always hated shaving and I read an article on Lifehacker.com awhile back about wet shaving, and it sounded like something I would really enjoy. I like a good shave, I like pampering myself a bit, and the Zen aspect of wet shaving seems right up my alley.

I've done an almost insane amount of reading and video watching on the subject, and I have picked out the items that I think I will purchase to start my wet shaving journey. I would like to go ahead and purchase the best gear I can so I will only have to make these purchases once. If I already have stuff I really like, I don't foresee being prone to RAD, SBAD, or any other AD. If I buy cheap stuff, then I'm going to just turn around and buy good stuff...

Here's what I have picked out so far:

Blade Sampler Pack (Extended)

Tabac Original Shaving Soap with Bowl

Proraso Pre/Post Shaving Cream

Shavemac 44140 Silvertip Brush

Now the razor is the part I'm not so sure about...

I'm thinking either the highly praised Edwin Jagger DE89L or the Bull Mastiff. I'm leaning towards the DE89L mainly because its cheaper, and I'm intimidated by the head choices for the Bull Mastiff. Any advice on whether I should go with the DE89L or the Bull Mastiff? If you think I should go with the Bull Mastiff, which head should I go with?

Anyway...checking in. :thumbup:

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
Newbie here checking in with first post!

I've always hated shaving and I read an article on Lifehacker.com awhile back about wet shaving, and it sounded like something I would really enjoy. I like a good shave, I like pampering myself a bit, and the Zen aspect of wet shaving seems right up my alley.