What's new

Razor bumps

I'm sure this has been asked a million times, but I can't seem to find a definitive answer.

I've been wetshaving for about three years now, but I used a cartridge razor, and recently switched to a DE razor. Thanks to razor burn and bumps, though, shaving with my DE feels like driving an old car on a dirt road (bump bump bump). As a consequence, I'm not getting nearly as close a shave as I should. I know that I shouldn't be getting perfect shaves overnight, but the razor burn/bumps are definitely impeding progress.

Is there any way of getting rid of razor bumps/ingrown hairs without just letting the hair grow? It seems like that's the most sensible advice, but due to my job, I'm not allowed to grow a beard, so I'm at a loss.

I had a similar issue when I first switched to DE. When your technique improves, the bumps go away.

For now, I'd say give your skin a rest when you can (i.e. weekends) and go slow and easy over the neck area when you shave.

Welcome to B&B.

You must have sensitive skin as I do. Just ease up on the pressure a little and forget the ATG pass for a couple of weeks.

You may want to try some pre shave oil until you get your technique down-pat. Also, I would totally avoid shaving against the grain. Try to give your face a rest when you can.

I can recommend Priva Powershave (available on Amazon in the UK), it uses ethyl alcohol which causes less irritation than some of the other brands of razor bump treatment.

Treatments such as this are good at dealing with the symptoms but as suggested above razor bumps are often the result of too much pressure or wrong angle, worth sorting out technique to avoid them completely.

So, it's been about a month, I've tried most of these solutions. I'm beginning to wonder if just shaving with a broken piece of glass would be easier on my face.