What's new

Better shaves AWAY from the forum?

musicman1951

three-tu-tu, three-tu-tu
My technique has improved vastly since joining B&B. Every razor I've purchased has been a little better for me than the one it replaced, but I have been using the same razor at home for around 8 years or so. I do notice that the first travel day's shave with my travel razor (a fine razor) brings the discovery that the razor angle needs to be slightly different. But there are shavers here who regularly rotate a big pile of razors with no issues, so I suspect it's just a skill I haven't honed.

I've been doing a few soap longevity tests over the past few years and noticed my old travel soap hasn't been used in all that time (I switched to La Toja sticks because their small size travels better), so I had a Haslinger's shave. I've used Haslinger's a great deal in the past and always thought it was nice soap, but I did end up with a little irritation (and a great shave). That was one shave, and in my book results from one shave mean virtually nothing (was it the lather or the blade or my technique), but I've been shaving with MdC, SV and CSS for a couple of years and wonder if they don't provide a little better cushion. I'll have to do another Haslinger's shave to find out.

Maybe I am wrong but getting a GOOD shave is a skill.

You can read, or watch U-Tube until your dog tired.

At some point you got to wet face, apply lather, and grave Razor loaded with blade.

First time I shave with DE was long ago. Yes I got cuts, nicks, and irritation.

In time I honed my skil, and things got better.

Can become good at anything, unless you spend time learn the skills to be good.

Be it sports, sales, cooking,or shaving.