What's new

3 weeks in. Going well so far.

I believe when i first posted this I put it in the wrong section.

So my buddy got me into wet shaving a few weeks ago. I just joined B&B the other day. Thanks to a generous gent on here, I got a PIF with a blade sampler pack. My question to whomever can help: How should I go about testing different blades? So far I have only been using the Personna blades. I've been using one blades for every 4-5 shaves. Should I try a different blade each shave or once a week? I have been pretty happy with the shaves so far. I will say though, I'm not getting BBS shaves. I am not shaving XTG yet. Honestly I'm sort of hesitant to go XTG. Any advice is appreciated.

welcome

i'm also new to this game and been at it 5-6 wks now. i've only tried the red personnas and like them very much. i will get a blade sampler at some time and work my way through it, but the personnas seem very forgiving and easy to use and i'm getting good shaves from them. i change blades after every 3-4 shaves.

if i had a blade sampler i'd try 3-4 blades of each type in a row, say 3-4 shaves with each. i think that would give the most accurate idea of whether they suited me or not.

and don't fear XTG. try it first on the easier bits - like sideburns, where the hair growth is all in 1 direction and the skin tougher. i'm doing WTG then XTG everywhere except my neck (for that my 2nd pass is inbewteen WTG and XTG).

good luck and enjoy

My question to whomever can help: How should I go about testing different blades?