What's new

Wet Shave Club first time subscriber, Series of reviews

Hey everyone on B&B, I'm Atreyu and I'm an avid student of the traditional shaving culture (I think traditional shaving sounds better than wet shaving, please bare with me). I started my journey a little over 8 months ago after being inspired while watching my grandfather shave for the last time before his passing on April 2nd of this year. He was 89yrs old and before beginning his shave he told me the story of his shaving history beginning when he was just a 12yr old in the Philippines, sprouting his first 4 whiskers.

That was 77 years of shaving history in which over time he mentioned that he never changed his method of shaving, but overtime through his travels around the world (he was a sailor/fisherman/exporter) He found and tried many different products from other countries. He then guided me step by step on the process of traditional shaving and each step of the way I felt like I was hearing a grand tale while watching history unfold before my eyes. The look of pride on him was inspiring, and he was overjoyed with being able to teach his grandson (28yrs old btw) something that he loved. He was a rare sight in my life, as someone who woke up looking forward to that shave.

After his passing, I looked back on that last day I spent with him, and couldn't help but feel like he was passing a torch down to me, and it was my duty to carry that torch on. So I dumped the cartridges and bought myself a Merkur 34c, my first start shaving kit from AOS. One thing that stood out to me was when he said, "Every where I've been, I found and learned things that wouldn't just make shaving feel like an obligation, I found products that opened my eyes to new ideas, and I learned techniques that made shaving more like an honored tradition."