What's new

Tips on Shaving with SE Razors

I'm new to shaving with Single Edge razors. I just got my Leaf Twig in the mail the other day, and my first shave was not great. It felt great on my face, but it really cut up my neck. Every pass on my neck hurt and little dots of blood would follow.

My question is, does anyone have any tips and tricks on how to find the proper angle and shave with SE razors? Any guidance would be very appreciated.

Edit for clarification: I'm using the Leaf-branded blades.

Firstly, welcome @FranktheTank16 . There are LOTS of super-knowledgeable members on this forum. I have learned so much in such a short amount of time (and renewed my wet shaving that was on hiatus for a few years.)

Many tips and tricks from many experienced on here, BUT have you tried watching some YouTube videos (they talk and SHOW about shaving WITH the grain, ensuring your skin is "warmed" up and moist (pre-shace oilk optional) and correctly lathered, technique--this is best viewed on sooooo many great YouTube channels. If no one else checkout "Ohio Shaves" on YouTube, https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQDMy9uNKFYP7Ls60Hhh6kw but there are really so many other great ones out there and also some specific to Twig (much more than one! Lots of reviews!) Good luck!

(The Twig should NOT cause SO MUCH irritation as you described, IMHO, esp bc it is a VERY miuld shave (YMMV) so perhaps a bit of education. I have found the learning curve not as steep as I thought.)

Firstly, welcome @FranktheTank16 . There are LOTS of super-knowledgeable members on this forum. I have learned so much in such a short amount of time (and renewed my wet shaving that was on hiatus for a few years.)