What's new

Thoughts on Parker 45

So I'm fairly new to FPs. I've had a couple Metropolitans. But the most recent two I had stopped working right shortly after I bought them. I also have a Pelikan M205, which I love but don't carry because I'm afraid to lose an expensive pen.
Now I want something new, probably vintage. I'm still looking around, but really like the looks of some NOS Parker 45s.
I was wondering what ya'll though about these pens? Are they real thin or have some heft?
Is there something else I should be looking at? I'm shooting for affordable but classy, for every day carry. A workhorse.
Thanks in advance for answering a question I know has been asked here a million times.

I have a couple of them. My only objection is that they are prone to section shrink. Otherwise they are nice workhorses.

I was wondering what ya'll though about these pens? Are they real thin or have some heft?
Is there something else I should be looking at? I'm shooting for affordable but classy, for every day carry. A workhorse.
Thanks in advance for answering a question I know has been asked here a million times.
The 45 is on the thin side compared to other Parker pens, but it's still quite comfortable to use. Length is 5.3" (135 mm), which is well in my comfort length for pens. If you can get an original aerometric converter, that's a plus. Very easy to maintain. Different nib widths, and the nibs are replaceable. Very good every day carry pen.

You can see the section problem here (not my picture, lended from the fpgeeks forum)

proxy.php

I think I can see what you mean. Stainless would clearly be prefferable. I'm looking at the NOS ones at Peyton Pens, which list a Flighter cap, but are colored bodies so clearly not stainless steel.
I'm also curious if anyone knows of other good places to get nice inexpensive NOS or close pens.