What's new

New to the Wet Shave

Hi. I am new to the traditional wet shave and I am loving it so far. I used to use a cartridge razor and I hated shaving. Now I look forward to my daily shave. I did have one quick question. I am wondering how long a shave soap will generally last. And I seem to feel like it would be different based on it being a solid puck or a soft soap. Any feedback here would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I have tubs of soap that are a couple years old. I never lather in the tub, I always use a lather bowl. Keeps everything fresh but I can definitely tell the strength of the scents dwindles over time. Most of my soaps are softer soaps in a tub like Stirling or PAA. Ive heard if you lather in the tub and put away wet bacteria can grow in there and your soap can go bad, but I have not seen this because I just dont do it. I like my soap tubs open as little as possible so im usually just opening for a quick whiff, or getting a bit out for a shave.

Triple Milled hard pucks last me 100-150 shaves. You could say 1g per shave.

Soft Soaps and creams about 2-3g per shave. So a 100g tube or tub would be 35-50 shaves for me. That #g may be a bit high, it's been while since I used a tub of cream or tracked usage.

I use them from start to finish and don't rotate them.

Thank you all for the great feedback. I have some soft soaps and I want to try a hard soap like Mitchell’s wool fat. But I have wanted to know if I got more shaves for the higher price tag. It sounds like that could be a big yes. I also am curious at the rate I’m going through my soft soaps and it sounds about right.

Thank you all for the great feedback. I have some soft soaps and I want to try a hard soap like Mitchell’s wool fat. But I have wanted to know if I got more shaves for the higher price tag. It sounds like that could be a big yes. I also am curious at the rate I’m going through my soft soaps and it sounds about right.