What's new

Need Help

I've been wet shaving for 5 years with an R41 and feather: no problems at all.

ive seen all the videos on straight razor shaving and yet I just st can't get it. Other than cheeks and chin, any part of the face that is curved or angled is a serious problem.

I use a Feather Artist DX with the Feather disposable blades, but just can't get it.

I tend to shave with my left hand only (right hand shakes). I believe that you are supposed to switch hands, use right hand on right side of face and left hand on left side of face? Is this true? Can I use my left hand for my entire face?

should I try a regular straight razor vs a shavette?

Would a regular straight be easier than a shavette?

any advice much appreciated

thanks

Last edited:
I have been shaving with a straight razor for five months. Now it's strange - I am half left-handed but have not got the hang of using my left hand with the razor, so I use my right hand exclusively. SO I see no reason why you should not be able to shave using only your left!

C.

I read somewhere that with a straight you must stroke straight down not a "slicing" motion which often happens when you cross hands (left hand on right side of face and vice versa).

Dont know if this is true?

You need to shave with ZERO pressure, like the razor is a hovercraft wisping away lather without touching skin. You might also try the Pro-guard blades. They help prevent errant lateral movements that cause cuts. And don't forget to stretch your skin.

Antique Hoosier

“Aircooled”