What's new

My first brush, how’d I do?

My first shaving brush. Good choice? It feels like a good one.

IMG_3167.jpeg

I looked at a bunch of different brushes but this one made my heart skip a beat.
It was a limited edition I think but unfortunately they were sold out.
I sent Stirling a message asking if they were going to do another run and the owner of the company emailed me and said he had set a few aside in case any got lost in the mail, and that he would list them up on the website in an hour or so.
Talk about wonderful customer service!

I’m new to traditional shaving and shaving brushes but I’m not new to brushes in general. I paint and use/have used synthetics, hog, sable, badger, horse, etc. Hog Is my favorite fiber. I also use a boar bristle hair & beard brush (I have coarse, thick curly hair).
I love the scratchy nature of hog bristles!
I’ve watched a few videos on different methods of conditioning them but I think I’ll just give it a good warm water soak & rinse and then start using it. It should break just fine over time with normal use, right?

That looks like a very nice boar brush you got there. You can use it as it is if you do not mind the scritch. It will break in with use. However. Many break them in by soaking them in warm water for a number of hours and then towel stropping them for a few minutes and than repeating that process until sufficiently broken in. When you soak it just don't soak the base of the brush. Just the bristles.

These kinds of brushes, similar to many Omega and Semogue models, always hit the sweet spot between being well made and also being cheap to acquire and enjoy for many years.

It is these kinds of brushes men would likely have bought in 1950's drugstores when looking for a new brush.

I think you've made an excellent choice!

My first shaving brush. Good choice? It feels like a good one.

View attachment 1790789

I looked at a bunch of different brushes but this one made my heart skip a beat.