What's new

Meal Prep

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
As the title suggests, I would like to discuss Meal Prep (or MealPrep for the searchable options).

I did not find anything very specific on B&B but I'm thinking that we may have a few meal preppers around here.

A bit of background, I enjoy cooking and I have time to cook most days. Sometimes I have less time (like anyone), that's where meal prep would be useful. I've never really meal prepped in my life so this is a new concept and I'm having issues integrating it.

I'm not after a specific recipe. I'm after ideas on what to cook and how to make it work. I will still cook as I go most of the time but I would like to meal prep here and there.

I would not say that I'm an expert by any means, I don't have any professional training in a kitchen but I can get around and make something work without much trouble(I press my tortillas, I don't buy pre-marinated meat, I do my own mixes, etc.) . I used an InstantPot before and recently got a Ninja foodi (9 in 1 or 10 in 1, I forget).

Let me give you a few examples of what I mean.

I recently read in the Meathead bbq cookbook that I should cook 2 pork shoulders when I make one. That way, I have some when I don't have time to bbq. I did that and he's right. I can easily make a pull pork sandwich or even a few tortillas with pull pork. That works! However, my rotation is bad as I still have some from May 2022 (3 portions maybe, I had 5 to start with). I don't have the reflex to get some of that pulled pork out of the freezer once a week let's say.

I then discovered overnight oats. I eat these 3 times a week. I started prepping them on Sunday night. I love having a ready-to-go breakfast in the morning. I make an egg sandwich when I'm not eating oats, it takes me around 10 minutes to make it. The sandwich is not impossible to prep but wouldn't be best.