What's new

interested in a custom kamisori

Hi I'm interested in getting a custom blade. I finally decided to treat myself a little. I've been looking around for people who do this sort of thing and I found this website.

http://shavesmith.com/custom-straight-razors/

Does anyone have any experience with them? I want to know if I'm getting something good before I shell out a few hundred dollars.

I have no experience with shave smith, but I would definitely wait to hear feedback from others before purchasing from them, as that is not a name I hear come up very much at all in terms of custom straight razors. I'm no vet when it comes to straights so I might be wrong.

Another place you could look at is Portland Razor Co. They make kamisoris with a few customizations. Hand made in America.

Last edited:
Never heard of Shavesmith, but all that means is that I haven't heard of Shavesmith.
I am quite familiar with these custom razor craftsmen:
Brian Brown
Jerry Stark
Tim Zowada
Robert Williams

These guys make a world class product and perhaps you may wish to see what they have to offer.

I looked at Shavesmith, mostly on Esty or whatever that artsy auction site is called. Also some threads I think on the other shave forum if I remember correctly.

I just got my first Brian Brown semi-custom and I am impressed. He makes a quality product, but I don't know if he offers the traditional asymmetrical grind that Kent mentioned. BTW you should click on the link in Kent's signature he knows a bit about this subject.

The custom makers Acmemfg mentioned all have well established reputations are are worth looking at. Joe Edson is also a top razor maker, but I know he's booked till next year.

Good luck and let us know what you decided to do.

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
I looked at Shavesmith, mostly on Esty or whatever that artsy auction site is called. Also some threads I think on the other shave forum if I remember correctly.