What's new

In search for my summer scent - lime! (Reviews)

What is your favorite lime scented cream?

• TOBS Lime Zest

Votes: 2 8.0%
  • GFT Extract of Limes

Votes: 3 12.0%
  • T&H West Indian Limes

Votes: 5 20.0%
  • Other?

Votes: 15 60.0%

• Total voters
I'm in the search for my summer scent - and have decided it should be a lime scent! So I have ordered 3 samples to test out:

TOBS Lime Zest
GFT Extract of Limes
T&H West Indian Limes

I will try to write some small reviews on these 3 products - to clarify a winner to put on the wish list. I have never tried any of the brands before and because of that I have no favorite scent wise, brand wise or performance wise.

Test setup is:
Razor: Mühle R89
Blade: Gillette Perma-Sharp
Brush: Mühle synthetic
And I will do bowl lathering in a cereal bowl.

Let the battle begin!

First one up: TOBS Lime Zest! (First try)

I used about half the sample (~2.5ml).
My rating is based on what it is - a mass produced cream from a well known manufacturer. As all the contestants are.

Scent (4/5):

Stronger than I expected - both directly from the sample and when lathered in the bowl. Lime, lemon, citrus all over - a little synthetic, but not in an unpleasant way. I like it.

Lather (3/5):
A little goes a long way! I thought I have used way too little soap, it seemed so little in my bowl. But it exploded in lather in a short time - rich, creamy lather. Looked really good in the bowl. I had a little hard time applying it smoothly to my face, it behaved a little weird - could be due to wrong water content.

Performance (4/5):
It performed really well - nice and slick. Plenty of residual slickness. Worked great together with the Gillette Perma-Sharp.
A little minus is that it gave me a slight tingly irritation around my lips - it could contain something that my face did not agree with. We'll see if this happens on the other half of the sample as well.

Overall: 3,5-4/5