What's new

Gillette Tech early 1960's vs other razors

I have been shaving with DE razors for about 5 years, but don't own that many yet! I wanted to stop throwing away plastic, so it feels weird to buy a lot of razors, but I can't resist a few.

I now have two early 1960's Gillette Techs. I thought they would be milder than they are, based on posts on this forum. Of the razors I have:

Karve Christopher Bradly B plate - mild and great shave; my favorite

Karve CB C plate - just a tad more aggressive than B, second mildest; second favorite (tie)

Merkur 34C - medium mild; sometimes give me weepers on the neck

King C. Gillette - medium

Gillette Tech 1960's - medium; pretty often gives me weepers on the neck (second favorite, tie, just because it is THAT cool to own and shave with a vintage razor)

Baili 171 (the numbers change a lot, but it is a newer Tech-like razor) - special case: almost no blade feel but huge blade gap, and some blemishes on my face can get caught in it no matter how careful I am. I can't use it for that reason.

Viking Blade the Chieftain - way too harsh for me! It was the first razor I got, and it is very uncomfortable and cuts me a lot. I stuck with this one for a couple of months thinking it was just me and my technique. But it was not. I replaced it with the Merkur 34C, which, for me, is enormously more comfortable - I was simply amazed when I switched, and quite delighted.

That's my whole list. Sort of pathetic compared to most people on this forum! As is always stated: YMMV. And my lack of DE razors should not be confused with a lack of interest in this hobby!